Colour!

Morning!

It’s quite early in the morning (at least it was when I started writing). I’ve got to go into work later (even though it’s the summer holidays) and it looks grey and murky outside (… even though it’s the summer holidays). So… I’m cheering myself up with some colour!

IMG_1065

Remember this basket of loveliness from the knitting tour? I tipped it all out on the floor the other day because the sun was shining and I could take some reasonable photos of the colours. It’s kind of embarrassing how long I spent playing with them.

IMG_1278

The colours haven’t come out perfectly in these photos, but these are the names:

bright pink – pomegranate – raspberry – pale rose

lipstick – shrimp – spice – saffron

citron – lime – meadow – aspen

bluebell – turquoise – teal – petrol

plum – grape – cream – white

It’s also a bit sad that I can remember the names of all the colours without going to look them up! Firstly, it’s Stylecraft Special DK, which comes in 100g balls of acrylic. I got them from Wool Warehouse at £1.69 each. I fell for them ages ago, when Lucy from Attic24 used them in one of her ripple blankets, and then I spent a loooong time putting them in and out of my virtual shopping basket. This was quite a big treat for me – I’d earned some extra money over the last few weeks, and desperately wanted to spend it on something I didn’t *need*.

IMG_1297

Yes, I am the sort of person who catalogues their wool. There’s one that I switched – the jaffa was just too bright for me and I’m not really an orange sort of person anyway. So the lovely people at my LYS (that would be in Cornwall, not Cardiff, so actually not that local) let me swap the jaffa for some bluebell. Obviously the wool comes in normal balls, but it was so soft that I just wanted to touch it, so I wound the first ball by hand. And then the next one… And then my slightly obsessive nature forced me to do all the rest as well, despite a little bit of RSI that started nagging my hand!

After the swap between Jaffa and Bluebell, I’ve got nine ‘warm’ colours, nine ‘cool’ colours and two neutrals. I’m also the kind of person who’s sad enough to record combinations of colours, and even give them names…

 IMG_1298IMG_1299

This is one of my favourite combinations:

IMG_1282

It’s pale rose, cream and meadow. I like the softness of the colours, and the vintagey feel to them. They feel like warm spring colours to me.

IMG_1283

And if you add in some grape, it adds depth and richness.

IMG_1284

Then when you swap the cream for plum, the focus shifts to the purples and becomes much richer and away from vintagey spring. The meadow keeps it soft, but…

IMG_1285

When you take out meadow and put in lime, the combination becomes zingy and fresh. Can you tell I love playing with colours?! Sea colours next:

IMG_1291

This makes me think of being deep underwater, where the sunlight can’t get through so the colours are darker. It hasn’t come out brilliantly in this photo, but the teal is quite greeny.

IMG_1289

Whereas these colours are more like seaweed, with the white bringing a freshness. Sticking with the nautical theme:

IMG_1287

These make me think of a nautically themed child’s bedroom… I’m aware that’s not a normal association! But changing the navy of classic nautical for the turquoise here updates it and makes it more child-friendly.

IMG_1286

Still on the nautical theme, this combination reminds me of chevrons and fashionable nail varnish designs on Pinterest. Yes, again, not normal!

IMG_1295

I love these – a girly twist on nautical.

IMG_1288

OK, getting out of the sea now. So if the first combination was spring, this is definitely autumn. They remind me of harvest and leaves changing and the countryside.

IMG_1281

And this is summer – windbreaks, swimming costumes, fresh fruit and ice cream.

IMG_1294

Not a season now – there’s too much contrast between the zingy lime and citron, and the deep plum. But I love the difference between them and how they bring out the best in each other. I can imagine making something with wide citron and lime stripes, with a tiny plum stripe between them.

IMG_1293

And these are just lovely happy colours. They’re some of the brightest from my stash, and they sit together so happily.

So what am I going to do with all of these colours? No idea! I’m going to play with them, and find little projects that I can put together quickly to try out the colours. Buying a huge stash like this with no project in mind is total luxury – I know how lucky I am that I’m able to do it. I’ve got a feeling Stylecraft Special project will be the theme of quite a few posts in the future!

2 thoughts on “Colour!

Leave a Reply

