Cheer up love!

I’m too ill to knit ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ok, I expect that’s not strictly true – I’ve only got a cold. But every time I look at wool, I feel all limp and weak. It’s strange. So instead, here are some pictures of nice things that aren’t knitting:

ย IMG_1309

Last weekend I went to Merthyr Rock with a friend. I used to work in Merthyr Tydfil, and was totally surprised when, walking back to the car, we caught a glimpse down this alley. It looks so pretty! I love seeing the backs of houses… It’s like reading someone’s diary. Except not quite so morally questionable. Anyway, my friend was very tolerant of me taking photos like a stalker. Merthyr Rock was awesome – we went to see Reel Big Fish, and we were right at the front ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_1318

Yep, this is quite a boring photo. It’s just the jewellery stand where I keep my necklaces. But one morning last week, I was awake early enough to see the sun hit it, and I really love the shadows it casts on the wall – in particular, the two flowers on the left.

IMG_1323

This is the wool that’s making me weak. It’s been by my bed for two days, and I’m slowly trying out bits and pieces with the Stylecraft. As you can see, I took this in the middle of the afternoon… I totally am a nap person (I call them ‘resumed lie-ins’), but I am a grumpy nap person when I’m ill. Still, there are worse things than being surrounded by wool and books.

IMG_1273

Buttons. Buttons make me happy. I don’t think I need to explain it any further. (But I will tell you this – this photo happened because I was doing a preliminary sort-out of my buttons, having ordered a compartment box online. I am very excited for the box arriving, because then I can do the official sort-out. Though I might need another box then.) (Also, I love these buttons because they are mostly my Grannie’s stash, which makes me extra happy.)

IMG_1263

There she is. The JL Mini. She’s pretty much the same cherry red as my first car, and she’s on the desk in my spare room. I’ve put away all of my work to accommodate her, and she’s seen some action already. I’ll show you some of it next week, but the best thing so far was re-fashioning a charity shop dress and then *actually wearing it in the outside world*! It was a size 26 smock thing, and I cut off the sleeves and sewed up the armholes a bit. That’s a big deal for me; I’m new to this! (Also, I’m not size 26. I’m not tiny, but I’m not size 26! I wear it with a belt around my waist.)

IMG_1176

This is a lovely lace pattern in a cardi at Fat Face in Truro. I was shopping with my mum, and she made me take the photo because she wants to knit it herself. Sneaky.

IMG_1087

Look at the colours! I helped my friend out – she’s got a balloon decorating business, and I used to work for her. Now I don’t have time to be there much, but I’ve done a bit of work for her over the summer. My favourite/least favourite job is sorting out the ribbon rack: I love playing with the colours, but it’s so annoying when the reels slide off the poles or won’t fit in the boxes. Still, lovely bright colours!

IMG_0961

Ah ๐Ÿ™‚ chopping veggies on the patio on holiday last month! The light was beautiful. The salad is split into two sides because C will only eat carrot, spring onion and cucumber. And he’s not too sure about cucumber… He’s missing out.

IMG_0815

The nicest gardening gloves I’ve ever seen! I am not a gardening sort of person – more of a plant-killer. But I decided to pull up the chives in a raised bed because they smelled like onions and made me feel sick whenever I went outside. And I’m scared of touching worms, so I got some gloves. Aren’t they pretty?! And they were super cheap; I think they were ยฃ1. (Yes, I know it’s pathetic to be scared of touching worms.)

IMG_0789

Happy dough. The bread tasted horrible – I’m a good baker, but not when it comes to bread. I like kneading though!

There. I’m not quite so grumpy now! I must remember to take happy photos when I see them, and then remember to actually look at them when I need a bit of happiness ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

